Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 07:34:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
179 Guests, 0 Users
Members
  • Total Members: 4,154
  • Latest: xyligo
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,640
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 203
  • Online ever: 582
  • (January 22, 2020, 08:44:01 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 179
Total: 179

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

Virtual or Actual Simulator Build ?

Started by mcros7, June 25, 2013, 12:59:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mcros7

I'm a private pilot who has been flying the X-Plane sim for about two years now on an iMac. I've been wanting to build a sim cockpit, but the question is whether to go virtual or actual. I enjoy flying a variety of different aircraft from light singles, to helicopters, to biz jets to the 787. Building an actual cockpit seems to be the holy grail for most sim pilots. With the realization that it would lock me in to a particular type of aircraft, as in light singles, or heavies, depending on what I build, I've been thinking it may be preferable to build a virtual cockpit that would retain the ability to sim any aircraft I feel like flying. That is not to mention that virtual instruments will never become outdated and always retain the ability to change with the software.

It seems to me that designing a sim around large screen LED TV's just might be the ticket. The only other equipment needed in the cockpit enclosure would be two seats and joystick controls, which many aircraft use today with fly by wire. Granted the virtual instrument panel would not quite be like the real thing, but it would have the advantage of changing with the type of aircraft I would be flying. That would certainly provide a more realistic simulation than building an actual light single cockpit and then flying a heavy, or vice versa.