Cockpitbuilders.com

Main => New Here..? Introduce yourself! => Topic started by: eisaacs on March 15, 2015, 09:06:43 AM

Title: need help creating a MCP for FSX.
Post by: eisaacs on March 15, 2015, 09:06:43 AM
So I started this project a year ago. Trying to make it as closely as the real thing as possible. But I'm stuck. I have an arduino mega and I want to connect 5/ 5 digit 7 segment lcd display to work with fsx as the MCP. I have looked at link2fs and uploaded code to the board but I still cannot see an image.  can anyone give me the step by step any advice will help.
Title: Re: need help creating a MCP for FSX.
Post by: Trevor Hale on March 15, 2015, 11:21:22 AM
Hi Everton,

I have done some crazy things with the arduino, but 7-segment displays aren't one of them.  Thats going to be very tricky I am affraid as you will literally have to program each "SEGMENT" as an LED and then build your code to turn on the correct segments for each Number.

What would be Waaaaay easer is for you to integrate an LCD.  Then you can display the didgits on that.

Trev
Title: Re: need help creating a MCP for FSX.
Post by: rprather on March 15, 2015, 11:38:28 AM
Google "arduino bcd 7 segment" for some ideas.

This site shows a module that plugs into a PoKeys... probably very similar with Arduino.
http://www.flightsimparts.eu/Simulator_PoKeys_7Segment.html (http://www.flightsimparts.eu/Simulator_PoKeys_7Segment.html)

Title: Re: need help creating a MCP for FSX.
Post by: jylhami on March 15, 2015, 10:32:56 PM
The Maxim 7219 chip is the way to go. You can control 8 digits with one chip, and the chips can be daisy chained. I guess 8 chips can be in the Daisy chain giving you a control over 64 digits with just 3 I/O lines.

http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/LedControl (http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/LedControl)

https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_LedControl.html (https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_LedControl.html) Has pretty much all you need

I have done a King 165 radio with 4 of these chips. I did it with Teensy, but I guess it is pretty much the same, as they use the same processor. If you wan't to see the .ino file give me a PM and I can send it to you to get a jumpstart.