Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 08, 2024, 02:46:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
356 Guests, 0 Users
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 373
  • Online ever: 831
  • (May 03, 2024, 12:39:25 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 356
Total: 356

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

Acceleration Height

Started by Sean, June 22, 2012, 12:29:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sean

According to the 737 FCOM I have, during take off, first there is thrust reduction height, followed by acceleration height.

Do these typically happen at the same point?

matta757

I am not a professional pilot, but I believe that this depends on the specific airport.

Acceleration heights are generally governed by noise abatement procedures. Thus, they are often times higher than the thrust reduction height. I think normal thrust reduction height is 1000ft AGL. Some airports have a specified acceleration height, such as 2200ft AGL in Vienna LOWW. This is due to noise in the surrounding neighborhoods.

I am assuming optimally, acceleration and thrust reduction heights would be the same.

MLeavy737

Sean,
I see this alot everyday.  First thrust reduction height is just that obviously... When the power comes back to FMC computed climb setting after takeoff. Normal ops is 1000ft agl.  There is another type climb originally called ICAO-A which usually for noise abatment procedures now called something like NDAP-1 i think.  Little different climb procedure and with that you set the thrust reduction alt to 1500 and climb at a steeper angle not accelerating until 3000ft agl.  Probably other uses for it however thats all i have used it for.