Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 09, 2024, 08:03:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
562 Guests, 0 Users
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 588
  • Online ever: 831
  • (May 03, 2024, 12:39:25 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 562
Total: 562

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

Freight to Australia

Started by tennyson, March 18, 2015, 03:52:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tennyson

Hey Guys.
I just bought a couple of aircraft seats from a company in Florida and I need to organise freight to Australia.

Can anybody recommend a freighter from there?

I bought gear from around the world, but never had to organise my own freight, so I'm a bit of a novice there.

I don't want to deal with DHL, as I bought FDS gear and had them ship, and the price kept going up every time I rang, so won't use them again.

Thanx for any assistance,

Frank Cooper

mickc

Hi Frank,

You may have better luck trying the freight forwarders here in Australia, and find one that has an agent in Florida.  Then the seller just drops it off at the depot and your forwarder handles it from there.

Be prepared though, there are huge fees for importing through customs into AU especially via airfreight

Here is a list of the fees i was hit for on my last import, on top of the actual freight charges:

IMPORT TERMINAL FEE (ITF):                              AUD $  90.00 PER AIRWAY BILL
AIRLINE DOCUMENT FEE (AHF):                          AUD $  50.00 PER AIRWAY BILL
AIRLINE HANDLING FEE (AHF):                           AUD $  55.00 MINIMUM
AIR CARGO/CMR/DOA:                                          AUD $100.00 PER AIRWAY BILL
DOCUMENT RETENTION FEE:                                AUD $15.00 PER SHIPMENT
CUSTOMS CLEARANCE FEE:                                    AUD $135.00 PER ENTRY FIRST 5 LINES INCLUDED, AUD3.50 PER LINE THEREAFTER