Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 12, 2024, 03:36:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
537 Guests, 0 Users
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 541
  • Online ever: 831
  • (May 03, 2024, 12:39:25 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 537
Total: 537

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

HELP CLARIFYING PROJECTOR/VIDEOCARD RESOLUTION QUESTION!

Started by mgovernali, July 01, 2015, 10:55:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mgovernali

Good day to all! Hey guys, I have been using multiple monitors for a couple of decades and just recently I switched to a projector (2nd and third coming soon). My question has to do with resolution settings.

Am I right to assume that if the projector can only output a max 720p there is no point in setting the video card at 1080p?

So it seems pretty obvious that - being the projector the last link in the chain, it dictates what the final resolution will be. But here are a couple of wildcards I am having a hard time understanding.

1) the above being true, then at what resolution should the sim (the source) be set at? In other words, if both the projector and the video card are set to 720, should the sim also be set at 1280X720? or should I set the sim as high as It goes (1920X1080) so that more pixels are sent to the video card?

2) this really puzzles me, if the projector can only send out a maximum (fixed actually) of 720p (vertical) pixels, then why does my windows desktop change to 1080 if I change the windows desktop resolution to 1080?

I think I am getting close but any clarification would be much appreciated.

Thank you everyone!!
Marco  :o

Nat Crea

In a nutshell...set the the desktop and flightsim to 720p.

Windows may let you set 1080p, but as you figured out, the projector
cannot output any more than 720p, so why put that extra strain on your video/cpu?

Nat