Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 01, 2024, 09:23:04 PM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
466 Guests, 0 Users
Members
  • Total Members: 4,154
  • Latest: xyligo
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 506
  • Online ever: 582
  • (January 22, 2020, 08:44:01 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 466
Total: 466

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

What I got, What I got! WAY OFF TOPIC...lot's of photos.

Started by Boeing Skunk Works, December 30, 2009, 02:51:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Boeing Skunk Works

This is what I've been longing for for the last 29 years ever since I saw and heard Lindsey Buckingham play this on the Tusk album.

If you're not familiar with Fleetwood Mac, Buckingham and Nicks joined the band in '74, but he was still playing a Gibson Les Paul. He had a difficult time finger picking this guitar as the neck width is norrower than the Turner guitar.

Rick Turner (used to run sound for The Grateful Dead in the '70's) approached him in '77 and asked him what he wanted in a guitar. Lindsey responded by saying he wanted something that sounded similar to an LP with more 'bite', but easier to play like a Fender Telecaster with a slightly wider and fatter neck.
Rick Turner produced this Model 1 in 1978, and the rest is history.

He has used this guitar for every album since (and his solo albums) and all live performances. It is the most versitile and best playing guitar in the world. This is a rather opinionated statement, but it is shared by anyone who has ever picked one up and played it. I have not spoken to one owner who has disagreed. Ever.

This has pretty much put an end to any guitar buying I might have needed down the road.