Cockpitbuilders.com

LUA Projects => General Discussions => Topic started by: navymustang on May 31, 2020, 06:05:30 AM

Title: LUACOM library with Lua Scripting - can't get it to load
Post by: navymustang on May 31, 2020, 06:05:30 AM
I am making a call in Lua to open the LUACOM library
using the call:  require "luacom"
I have the full Lua application loaded and it runs just fine. I need this library to use the Pokeys 57u I/O card.
However my script fails on this call saying it can't find the library. I have tried loading it everywhere, yet Lua still comes back with can't find file.
Any thoughts?

OK - more data. I have installed the full version of Lua including the SciTE editor. If I run my script from the editor it finds Luacom library and controls the Pokeys 57u perfectly. But of course non of the IPC calls work since I am not within the FSUIPC environment. So the library and my code works. How has anyone moved the Luacom library into an area where FSUIPC sees it so I can have P3D interfacing via FSUIPC and Pokeys support at the same time?

HELP !!!!
Title: Re: LUACOM library with Lua Scripting - can't get it to load
Post by: Trevor Hale on June 01, 2020, 08:08:00 AM
Not to be a pain, but!  Something tells me not too long ago I sent an email to Wendy (At Pokeys) I am sure she said you needed to use Fly with Lua and Python under xplane to use their stuff.

I am sure there will be a way to do you you want.  But the thing is, I don't think it has been done yet :)

Please keep us posted.
Title: Re: LUACOM library with Lua Scripting - can't get it to load
Post by: navymustang on June 01, 2020, 04:35:00 PM
P3dv5 is what I am using.
Title: Re: LUACOM library with Lua Scripting - can't get it to load
Post by: Trevor Hale on June 04, 2020, 08:40:39 AM
Exactly...  Remember the Lua built into FSUIPC is not the Full LUA
Title: Re: LUACOM library with Lua Scripting - can't get it to load
Post by: navymustang on June 04, 2020, 09:09:49 AM
It even gets more confusing. I know that the FSUIPC Lua is only a partial implementation. But then, add Linda on top of that which does have a Lua executable and is at a very current level. So my question is: when you make a Lua library call when Linda is installed, is FSUIPC making it, or does Linda make it. Then even more confusing, if you have Lua installed in your x86 folders, does it ever get involved. So complicated !!!
Title: Re: LUACOM library with Lua Scripting - can't get it to load
Post by: navymustang on June 04, 2020, 01:47:10 PM
OK, new update. I found a reference in a post on Avsim that you should put the LuaCOM.dll in a folder called lua at the root of the FSUIPC folder. This worked and it found LuaCOM.dll. But now the error is: "not a valid Win32 application"
Looks like I at least have it in the right location, but perhaps the wrong compile for 64 bit ???

Any ideas?