Welcome to Cockpitbuilders.com. Please login or sign up.

May 08, 2024, 01:44:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length

PROUDLY ENDORSING

Fly Elise-ng
357 Guests, 0 Users
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 59,641
  • Total Topics: 7,853
  • Online today: 373
  • Online ever: 831
  • (May 03, 2024, 12:39:25 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 357
Total: 357

COUNTDOWN TO WF2022

WORLDFLIGHT TEAM USA

Will Depart in...

Recent

Welcome

Sim Avionics or Pro Sim?

Started by milezee, May 15, 2013, 10:50:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

milezee

I'm a new cockpit builder.
I've got a OC MCP + EFIS and a OC mastercard + USB.
I've just started cutting a MIP with MDF for my first desktop cockpit. I'm ordering some captain side OC panels. I plan to expand to as big as my girlfriend will allow.
I'm a big x-plane fan but settle for PMDG 737 on my laptop with TrackIR when I get the time (I've got a 10 month old baby, shes gonna be a pilot one day).
Hey, I just recently managed the cold + dark start up!

I downloaded the Sim-A demo and thought it was amazing but soon got frustrated with it as I struggled to get my H/W working. I'm not un-technical by any means. I get the whole SIOC thing but struggle jumping through the FSUIPC hoop.

Then I tried Pro Sim and got my hardware working in 30 minutes. (well not all of it, I'm still working out how to get the rotary encoders working). But I found it much easier to use.

Question: pros and cons of Sim-A vs Prosim.
Cost is a good starting point, Prosim seems to win on that one.

X-plane support is kind of important, maybe not immediately but in the future when I get to build my 5 screen visuals ;-)

I'm also keeping a keen eye on prepar3d.

General thoughts and directions appreciated.

fsaviator

Welcome!  Where to start...  well, you seem all over the place.  Before you decide on the software, you will need to determine what you want to do first.