Cockpitbuilders.com

CockpitBuilders.com - Main => News and Announcements => Topic started by: Trevor Hale on May 23, 2017, 10:17:26 am

Title: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: Trevor Hale on May 23, 2017, 10:17:26 am
Lockheed Martin is proud to announce that the next generation of simulation and training will start on May 30, 2017 with the public release of Prepar3D v4.  The release culminates over eight years of Lockheed Martin development and welcomes major enhancements and new capabilities.

(https://www.cockpitbuilders.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fprepar3d.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2017%2F05%2Ff35-1-300x169.jpg&hash=77b33a28141d1d4f2f6833f8c0466c87)

Lockheed Martin's Prepar3D v4 - available May 30, 2017 Prepar3D v4 completely changes the simulation landscape with a comprehensive baseline update to a 64-bit architecture.  Higher resolution visuals, more objects, increased data precision, larger scenarios, and improved performance are now all possible at levels never seen before in the product's history.  The sky's not the limit!

Additionally, the release brings dynamic lighting, rain/snow particles, global 3D trees, a fully reworked software development kit (SDK), new default vehicles, and countless improvements.

More details will be released over the next week with Prepar3D v4 being directly available from Prepar3D.com on May 30, 2017 at 2:00pm EST.
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: jackpilot on May 24, 2017, 06:42:42 am
http://forum.simflight.com/topic/82730-64-bit-compatibility/ (http://forum.simflight.com/topic/82730-64-bit-compatibility/)

Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: blueskydriver on May 24, 2017, 08:33:15 am
Now this is something not many have thought about I'm sure! We're all holding our breath for a very long time for 64bit sim programs and we get this news...Dove Tail strictly simconnect and Prepared3D 64bit is not up for FSUIPC.

I think we all need to beg Pete to update FSUIPC! Otherwise, we learn simconnect for Dovetail...uh, yeah right...and what will Prepared3D use; they surely must've thought about hardware interfacing. Of course, we'll still have Xplane, but think about how everything is currently based on it, ie XUIPC versus FSUIPC. All the hardware companies' add ons and IO cards work best with FSUIPC, and when you think about it, isn't everything circled around offsets?

I am going to email Pete with a begging and pleading heart to save us all by doing the update...

John
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: jackpilot on May 24, 2017, 09:44:33 am
100% agreed John...but:

Time will tell if the V4  gain is overwhelming for cockpitbuilders vs the headaches, frustrations and cost associated with the switch.
Just as a reminder, I used Fs9 for 10+years with superb addons which did not make FSX attractive enough with all its performance shortcomings . I had a blast flying a full blown DSTD with next to zero issues.
I will probably do the same with P3D V3.x and SimAvionics which, used together, are very close to the kind of reliability I expect from my sim.
Chasing the end of the rainbow is what ends up making many people quit the hobby.
In any case, a kind word of appreciation to Pete is always a good idea as this Guy did more for us than anyone else, and it can only encourage him to do his usual magic.
So patience is on the order.
IMHO
Jack
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: XOrionFE on May 24, 2017, 10:23:55 am
I know I will be checking it out.   I always love chasing after the shiny new lure....

Some people go nuts doing so and leave the hobby whilst some of us just enjoy the pain too much!    :-\

Scott
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: jackpilot on May 24, 2017, 10:41:56 am
 :D
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: FredK on May 24, 2017, 01:05:07 pm
There may be a way around it for cockpitbuilders.......

I have a mixed WideView setup.... I use FSX for my WV server and P3Dv35 for my 3 clients that perform the actual projection.  WideView is cross-compatible that way. It is the FSX computer that is linked to my SimA computers.

The reason I do it that way is that FSX is a much more stable platform....it simply never crashes particularly with all the sliders set to minimums (since I do not use video off that computer).  It is interesting since I have always been plagued with P3D crashing on my WV server, but P3D never crashes on the WV clients even though that is where all the scenery rendering demand is.

So....if WV works (or can be updated) for P3Dv4 I would have the best of all worlds!  Provided that such would still be compatible with FSX or P3Dv3.  A WV update would be a much simpler update than FSUIPC I would think.

I have a query post up on the WideView forum.

Fred K
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: Trevor Hale on May 25, 2017, 12:08:38 pm
After reading Pete's Support forum, he has eluded to rewriting fsuipc, however I guarantee it will require the purchase of another fsuipc license.

Trev
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: jfuenmayor on May 26, 2017, 07:53:46 am
Well, great news now.

Pete just announced in his forum, after returning from vacation, that
FSUIPC 5 supporting 64 bit P3D will be available with some functionality not critical to the offsets, present. I think I detected a hint that he was already in the development process. So there you have it. I think that migration to P3D v4 will be doable after all.

JF
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: Nat Crea on May 29, 2017, 04:17:48 pm
QuoteSo....if WV works (or can be updated) for P3Dv4 I would have the best of all worlds!  Provided that such would still be compatible with FSX or P3Dv3


H Fred,
Tried VW380 and P3Dv4 just for laughs...
No go with current version of WideView, its a 32 bit DLL.
Now its up to Lucianno to make a 64bit version...

Nat
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: FredK on May 29, 2017, 05:38:38 pm
Hi Nat

I sort of expected that.  The thing is, Luciano is nowhere to be seen or heard of of late.  So I would be surprised if an update for WV 64 bit will ever happen. 

That means I will be stuck on P3Dv3....unless performance for P3Dv4 on a single computer at least matches what I am getting on 4 computers.  At least I could simplify my setup.

On that aspect.....how much of a performance boost are you seeing with P3Dv4?

Regards,
Fred K
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: Nat Crea on May 29, 2017, 10:37:42 pm
QuoteOn that aspect.....how much of a performance boost are you seeing with P3Dv4?


Frame rates practically the same as v3, but with slightly higher/better graphic settings.
The extra memory access is the main advantage.
Overall v4 is better than v3 but still CPU bound.

Nat
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: jskibo on May 30, 2017, 11:18:12 am
Installing now :)
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: Caflyt on May 30, 2017, 12:20:44 pm
It only took a 64 bit version to bring John out of hiding  ;D
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: jskibo on May 30, 2017, 02:35:07 pm
Quote from: Caflyt on May 30, 2017, 12:20:44 pm
It only took a 64 bit version to bring John out of hiding  ;D


Always lurking.  :)

Just fired up V3 a week ago and trying again to get a certain M 11 product to load.  For me it only works in V2.

Picked up more Orbx stuff on sale and some A2A GA planes.

Bought V4 today to see how the future looks. 

I'm still a year plus from jumping back into a build and likely something like a King Air or maybe something G1000 based. 

Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: mgovernali on June 02, 2017, 02:23:42 pm
 :) FINALLY Lockheed Martin you made a 64 bit version  I have been waiting for this for over 5 years. Similarly to our friend JackPilot, I have been running FS9 for ever - happily so I may add, as nothing beats the best of both world, a ton of custom scenery and maximum details and frame rates. but, the only shortcoming of course has been the limitations associated with the 32 sim (ram and no video card rendering) therefore, that is the only reason why i have been waiting, for what is the point of having 32 Gigs ram and 2 monstrous video cards ( I own a computer store) if you can't use them? As far as FSUIPC is concerned I believe Mr Peter will have to make a 64 bit version (thank you Pete), otherwise we are dead in the water, plus, he may be able to make a good buck on the 64 bit licences. But, my only question is this, and I would appreciate it if you guys would finally clarify this point for me. Q: If One goes ahead and installs P3D-64, and then a bunch of terrain meshes and sceneries airports etc.... what happens when LM decides to update to V4.1 -V4.2 etc.? do we need to remove this version (4.0) and start from scratch again, or can we update P3D-4 directly, without removing it first? thank you so kindly everyone! Mark -747-400 sim.
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: Nat Crea on June 02, 2017, 04:09:56 pm
Quotewhat happens when LM decides to update to V4.1 -V4.2 etc.? do we need to remove this version (4.0) and start from scratch again, or can we update P3D-4 directly, without removing it first?


Yes you can install "update" only, Instructions here:

http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6322&t=120861 (http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6322&t=120861)

Nat
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: bernard S on June 03, 2017, 04:22:05 am
i am ruuning it ..  and like it
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: FredK on June 03, 2017, 04:55:34 am
Anyone have anything to report on how well P3D V4 runs on a multi-display setup (single computer) versus V3? 

As a multi-channel (WideView) user for almost 15 years now I am on the verge of making a decision to bite the bullet to invest in the best rig possible at this point (Titan 1080 water-cooled GPU for example)to run my multi-displays off a single computer.  The thing is I will be very disappointed if it does not at least approach the display performance of what I have running 4 computers (server + 3 clients).   I am not looking to exceed....just to match, or nearly match. I know that P3D V3 is well short of that criteria.

It is been hard to glean that understanding context from the forums to this point. In any event I will most likely spec out and put my order in for the hardware this weekend and find out firsthand.

Support for WideView appears to be dead going forward, and I do not want to be stuck on V3 in any event.

Fred K
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: bernard S on June 03, 2017, 05:00:52 am
here a quick poc of my visual rig running collimated displays well worth the bucks am running x4 1080ti cooled so heat is well displaced 12 fans radiators   and blah blah lol
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: 737NGer on June 03, 2017, 08:19:48 am
Quote from: bernard S on June 03, 2017, 05:00:52 am
here a quick poc of my visual rig running collimated displays well worth the bucks am running x4 1080ti cooled so heat is well displaced 12 fans radiators   and blah blah lol


Where did you get the collimated display from? Or did you make it yourself?
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: bernard S on June 03, 2017, 08:50:05 am
i have spare set if interested as i need space
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: 737NGer on June 03, 2017, 09:31:32 am
Quote from: bernard S on June 03, 2017, 08:50:05 am
i have spare set if interested as i need space


Thank you for the offer Bernard.

I wish I could it take it, but that is still a long way ahead. I'll start thinking about the display once I get hold of a real cockpit, but that won't happen untill a long time from now.
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: tennyson on June 06, 2017, 03:12:25 am
So, the speculation over wideview begins....

I wrote an email to Luciano Napolitano and his reply was this:

"Hi Frank,

Thanks for your email. The conversion of wideview into 64bit environment should be possible. I'm currently having a look into it, but it may take a while, as I will need to re-design different parts and I will not know if I will actually succeed in malking the new release, until I will not complete at least part of the convertion.

Best Regards,
Luciano."

Straight from the horses mouth ( no insult intended, Luciano.)


Frank

Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: FredK on June 06, 2017, 03:22:35 pm
QuoteSo, the speculation over wideview begins....

I wrote an email to Luciano Napolitano and his reply was this:

"Hi Frank,

Thanks for your email. The conversion of wideview into 64bit environment should be possible. I'm currently having a look into it, but it may take a while, as I will need to re-design different parts and I will not know if I will actually succeed in malking the new release, until I will not complete at least part of the convertion.

Best Regards,
Luciano."

Straight from the horses mouth ( no insult intended, Luciano.)


Frank


Why is there always a lot of intrigue and mystery surrounding this hobby?

Fred K
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: jfuenmayor on June 24, 2017, 08:49:24 am
Hi all:

Well, I have installed P3D v4 side by side with V3, which is the one I use regularly. My rig includes the main machine with an i7 Quad Core, 3.50 GHz, 32 GB of RAM, NVIDIA GForce 980 running under Windows7 and 5 clients, two of them running WinXP for the CDU's (one machine for each CDU), the other 3 clients also run Win7. One of them is used for SIOC driving my RV TQ comnected to it, and vPilot as a client, the second one runs the main Displays and the third one EICAS and  the lower MFD. I will be getting rid of the two XP machines since they cannot run the latest .NET Framework which is needed for the latest versions of ProSim.

I have not installed any addons except for FSUIPC5 latest version 102a.
No tinkering has been made with the settings. The program adjusted itself automatically as per hardware capabilities detected. Axis setting and calibration were done via FSUIPC. The PFC 737Yoke, a Butanro card driving the Tiller and a FDS FC1 card driving FDS Rudder Pedaals were all recognized and work without a hitch. Also, Topcat and ProsimUtils work with it as well.

No change was necessary to my TQ settings. The SIOC Script that I had modified in the past, worked the same and flawlessly. Only the trim needed to be adjusted since it moved all the way to the UP position when the program was first run. This was corrected with the trim control on the Yoke. The Prosim 737 Winglets model installed correctly after indicating the proper directory. All controls and switches from ProSim worked without changes to the config file. In summary, it was quite easy to make the transfer.

Now my initial experience:  P3D V4 loads a lot faster. The frame rates in this rig are 60 fps or higher, the aircraft is able to be flown manually without problems despite minimal lag in the controls, the Autothrotles work the same as with V3 and the CPFlight MCP Pro with EFIS performs despite a lag that is noticeable. I attempted a manual ILS approach with a light headwind and it was quite difficult due to the lag on the displays,  which translated into a very erratic control input from my part. On the other hand, the Autopilot was able to fly the approach to DH very precisely.

There is no question that the main issue is the lag on Prosim. Since i do not know the inner workings of either ProSim or FSUIPC, I cannot be certain at what level of communication the bottleneck occurs. For sure, the packets of data transmitted from ProSim to FSUIPC an then P3D v4 have a delay which can easily be discerned by observing the lack of fluidity on the displays. This has already been reported by others. Some people have said that the latest version of FSUIPC5 has shown an improvement. That version (.102a), is the only one I have tried, so the initial one must have been even worse.

My two cents: For simmers with full  Cockpits using ProSim, P3D v4 is not ready for prime time yet, but, once this hurdle is overcome, and I have very reason to believe it will be, there probably will be no returning to V3. Sixty four bits is native in the CPU's we run today. I like this upgrade very much and I do not feel that I have wasted my money. Certainly, the cycles between major versions of P3D are a concern but is the only one maintaining the MSFS base code, and it shows. Other options such as X-Plane are even more difficult to adopt using ProSim. And I have personal experience on that too.

I will continue to test and will report accordingly.

Life is good.

Cheers
Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: jfuenmayor on October 18, 2017, 08:19:38 am
Hi guys

Just to let you know that I have just upgraded to version 4.1 without any problems.
Only the client and content parts have been updated. Both must be uninstalled first and registering the software  again is a must. FSUIPC5 latest version, 121b,  must also be installed. The good news is that there is absolutely  no lag with ProSIm and it loads quite a bit faster than V3 too.

In my case, FSX belongs to history, I am sure that once Luciano works out WideWiew, and I think he probably will (shhhh is a challenge...), many people will be happy.
A note on the bgl compiler for version 4.0 and 4.1, Scruffyduck ADE AFCAD files will not compile, but, the V3 compiler can be used and the scenery will run perfect on versions 4.0 and 4.1

Cheers.

Title: Re: Prepar3D Version 4.0 Announced
Post by: Trevor Hale on October 18, 2017, 08:23:20 am
Great Information Joaquin, Thanks for updating us. I haven't made that Jump yet.  Maybe after Worldflight LOL

Trev