Cockpitbuilders.com

CockpitBuilders.com - Main => General Discussion Board. => Topic started by: Mach7 on October 08, 2019, 11:20:55 am

Title: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Mach7 on October 08, 2019, 11:20:55 am
Hello all,

I am using a generic BAe146 freeware platform for me sim. Although this works fairly well, I am missing some items that would normally be available on stock aircraft such the overspeed clacker/horn.


Is there anyway though FSUIPC or the aircraft CFG file to enable this function?

I am using FS9.

btw Here is a link to an additional vid on my YouTube channel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_XssUzOlg4
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Trevor Hale on October 08, 2019, 01:21:03 pm
It can easilly be done with FSUIPC and LUA.  You just need to read the Airspeed OFFSET and have it toggle a sound file to play the clacker.

FSUIPC integrated with LUA, is pretty easy. see the attached file.  I have attached my Lua Script (toggles by fsuipc button press to start it when I start the sim and stop it if I need to test.

keep in mind this file also feeds my arduino for my servos. but look at the bottom section for the sound file calls.  also note, mine are listening to altitude offsets not speed.

Trev
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Mach7 on October 08, 2019, 03:17:01 pm
Thanks Trev,

to be honest I know nothing about LUA so I am attempting to educate myself... but it seems that this may be an answer to some additional obstacles.

If you don't mind I am probably going to pick your brain on this subject as there are other items I would like to bring 'on line' .

http://www.anadrac.com/FSUIPC-Lua-Tutorial/

jim
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Trevor Hale on October 09, 2019, 02:34:49 am
Quote from: Mach7 on October 08, 2019, 03:17:01 pmThanks Trev,

to be honest I know nothing about LUA so I am attempting to educate myself... but it seems that this may be an answer to some additional obstacles.

If you don't mind I am probably going to pick your brain on this subject as there are other items I would like to bring 'on line' .

http://www.anadrac.com/FSUIPC-Lua-Tutorial/

jim

Sure no problem but I too am no expert. 

in layman's terms you dump the file into your module folder with the sound file. 

in fsuipc you have a key or switch function set to "run a lua script" once the sim loads and your sitting at the gate. Run the lua file via the key press you specified and it just works lol. 

ignore all the top parts of that file as I said it controls my analog gauges. 

but the sound call section and the section above that is the key to what you are after. 

Trev
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Mach7 on October 10, 2019, 04:10:00 pm
Hello Trevor....or anyone who wants to chime in.

I am thinking that there must be an easier way to approach my problem.

Currently I am using a paid version of PM sounds, I am finding there are many audio tones I cannot access..like fire bells and chimes. Is there anyway to install a gauge off fspanel studio to activate sounds through pm sounds? If so I might be able to get some form of overspeed audio, and/or stall warning information in this generic sim (?)
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: blueskydriver on October 10, 2019, 09:37:18 pm
Curious, where did you get the freeware aircraft from?

John
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Mach7 on October 11, 2019, 12:03:42 am
Hello John,

The freeware aircraft was provided by Jon Murchinson (spelling) off the "bae panel project" site. I tried to adapt a payware version (quality wings), however I cannot interface or utilize my FSPANEL studio to select, move or resize the gauges.
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Mach7 on October 11, 2019, 12:08:11 am
I also have a payware version of PM Sounds...which works fine for the most part. I found that if I added a 'gauge' onto my panel (through 'studio'), I could get PM to recognize and provide appropriate audio response, ie gpws. In reference to my initial post...I do get the "overspeed" red inverse video line at the bottom of the screen when speed is exceeded...but I do not have any audio to accompany the text.

I am confident that the generic aircraft does not incorporate this sound, but there must be a way to pull it out of PM sounds some how (?)
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Trevor Hale on October 11, 2019, 03:27:53 am
PM Sound events can be triggered by various events (Somehow) I found Lua was easier to figure out than that.  However.  You could also include a generic (FS9) gauge in your panel from a default aircraft and see if that works just install it in a panel window you don't open. They would likely reference the overspeed.

There should be a line in your aircraft.cfg file


max_indicated_speedMaximum design indicated airspeed. Also referred to as Never Exceed Speed or Red Line of the aircraft, (Knots Indicated Airspeed).Beech Baron 58( max_indicated_speed = 223 )


Make sure this line exists under the [reference speeds] Header. (Should be the same in Fs9) I believe this is the line that triggers the event.

Trev
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Mach7 on October 11, 2019, 07:14:13 am
You are correct Trev,

I did exactly that as with "aired" and changed the speed from 351 ias to 295...but still there was no change...that is to say no overspeed clacker be heard. Having said this the red "overspeed" message did display but I cannot say if it changed with the speed modification....most likely it did. Just trying to get an audio tone associated with the wording.
Title: Re: Generic Aircraft quesiton
Post by: Trevor Hale on October 11, 2019, 08:08:16 am
Quote from: Mach7 on October 11, 2019, 07:14:13 amYou are correct Trev,

I did exactly that as with "aired" and changed the speed from 351 ias to 295...but still there was no change...that is to say no overspeed clacker be heard. Having said this the red "overspeed" message did display but I cannot say if it changed with the speed modification....most likely it did. Just trying to get an audio tone associated with the wording.
I am wondering if the audio sound file needs to be specified in the (Aircraft directory\Sound\sounds.cfg) file. for that option.

Thanks,

Trev